I hate having a car
Oct. 9th, 2002 10:16 pmI really really do. Especially since auto companies seem compelled to make sure that cars start breaking down within a couple thousand miles of the end of the warrantee. I know I've mentioned before that my car window's broken, but I'm finally getting around to fixing it. What actually happened is that the cable that pulls the window up and down is all twisted up and ruined, because it jumped the track somehow. My mechanic (who is married to a first cousin once removed of mine) thinks that the cable was defective in the first place. At any rate, you apparently can't buy just the cable. Oh, no, you have to buy the entire mechanism! $280 for the damned thing alone. $280! And all this for a car that I'm not even going to get to keep- as soon as I leave home, my mother takes the car back, since it's in her name. At any rate, the car's inner door panel is off in anticipation of getting that expensive part, and everything's going fine until I start home after class tonight. Not only did the panel say "door ajar" but the interior lights were on all the way home! I had to call my mechanic at home at 9:30 so he could meet me at the garage to fix it. Fortunately, it was easy to fix, but I now have a fading tension headache. Gaaaaaah. I hate cars.